SASTRA LAW Students Win KIIT Moot Competition



The 6th Edition of the KIIT National Moot Court Competition, 2018 was organised by Kalinga School of Law, working with J. Sagar and Associates, from the 28th to the 30th of September, 2018.


SASTRA  Law School team consisting of 4th Year law students Shri Vishvas Bharadwaj, Shri Lakshmi Narayana, and 5th year law student Shri Abishek Sethiya were declared *Winners* for the year 2018 after facing Rizvi School of Law, Mumbai University in the Finals. A total of 42 teams from all over India participated in the Moot. Almost every National Law School participated, including GNLU, RMLNLU, NLUJ, CNLU NLIU, HNLU, KNLU, NALSAR, and others. On the way to the finals, SASTRA School of Law beat Symbiosis Law School Hyderabad, RMLNLU and School of Law, Christ Deemed to be university.  


The team has won a total cash prize of one lakh rupees. Vishwas B was adjudged the best student advocate, with a special mention by the Justice. Shri. Debrabata Dash ,Judge Highcourt of Orissa.


The Final of the competition was judged by a 5 member bench comprising sitting Justice of the Calcutta High Court Justice Shri Sanjib Banerjee, Attorney General of the Odisha High Court Shri S.V. Misra, Head of the Dept of IPR at IIT Kharagpur Professor Dr. Indrajit Dube, Partner at Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas Shri Siddhartha Dutta, and former partner of JSA Shri Somashekar Sundaresan. The valediction and prize distribution ceremony was presided over by sitting Justice of the Odisha High Court, Justice Shri Debrabata Dash.



School of Law students with the Winner’s Trophy